top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureIvor M Bundell

I Walked with William Butler Yeats

I walked with William Butler Yeats

Among the children at my school

And heard them tell of unfamiliar days

And watched them run and play and fall

At sixty now my beard is grey

And all my knowledge washed and wan

The tilting milk float and the swill

Are now no more, forgotten, gone.

The garden where we planted seeds,

The nettles scythed beside the field,

The goals we scored, the rounders run,

A final summer signed and sealed.

We fled into the future then

Among the mighty hopes of youth

And searched for hope and fevered love

In search of treasure that is Truth.

But that was long ago and this

Is but a passing moment still,

As if the wind a glancing kiss,

As if a life might bend to will.

So now I look to climb the hill

Where my first memory was born,

But holding hands with no-one now

The night is long and far from dawn.

© IMB (June, 2020)

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

The Silence of the Apps

The dragon’s roar echoes from an airport Over the hills beyond and through blue air To this quiet garden where I sit and stare Addictively at apps like someone caught In a maelstrom, the cyclone’s sin

A Death in the Garden

I lay on the lawn looking up at the wide blue sky. My skin was in need of sun. The late spring had been unusually hot and the garden needed rain, desperately. The sky was cloudless and without trace

I Walked The Streets of London

I walked the streets of London Immortal and alone My heart and mind were solitary And truth cut to the bone By Charing Cross and down the Strand Past Holborn to the square And off the great Museum Hal

bottom of page